If you’ve spent time creating content on YouTube, you’ve probably come across the term “Unlisted.” It can be useful in some cases, but what are unlisted aids on YouTube, and when should you use them?
When the visibility setting on a YouTube video is changed to “unlisted,” it is no longer accessible to public users. A user must have the video’s link to view it. Private videos are inaccessible unless a user has special access to them.
They are more secure than unlisted videos. Let’s find out more!
What does having an unlisted YouTube video mean?
Unlisted videos are efficiently concealed from the YouTube homepage, search engine result pages (SERPs), suggestions, and the user’s channel. However, this means the general public can no longer view these videos while casually scrolling through YouTube.
When consumers only want specific individuals to have access to their videos, they typically change the visibility settings to “unlisted.” As a result, the video will not be accessible to all users and will only be viewed by those who have the link to the video.
Unlisted videos are the middle ground between public and private videos. Users can find public videos on YouTube’s homepage, recommended videos, subscription feeds, and search engine results pages (SERPs).
Private videos, on the other hand, are usually visible to the video’s creator and those who have been granted permission to view them.
There are many explanations why a creator might change their video’s visibility setting to “unlisted.”
One of the most prevalent explanations is sharing confidential data with many people.
In this case, expressing the URL with an audience of viewers is simpler than offering authorization to every user.
What is the distinction between unlisted and private YouTube videos?
Unlisted and private videos frequently need clarification by YouTube users. And, while they may appear to be the same on the surface, there is a distinction between an ‘unlisted’ and a ‘private’ video.
Private videos, like unlisted videos, will be concealed from the YouTube homepage, subscriber feeds, Explore page, suggestions, SERPs, and anywhere else public users can find videos.
To view an unlisted video, an individual needs to know the video’s specific URL or have the link shared with them directly. They can share the link with whoever they want once they have it. So, as long as they have the link, anyone can watch an unlisted video.
On the other hand, a private video can only be examined by people if the creator has granted them direct access. The video will be viewable by the creator’s account. However, any additional accounts that wish to utilize the content must be granted permission.
No one with permission to see them can access private videos; only the creator can do so.
Unlisted videos tend to be less safe than private videos since they serve as a bridge between public and private videos and can be officially viewed by anyone with the link.
As a result, videos containing personal or sensitive information, such as business details, should be set to private rather than unlisted. Private videos are ideal for sharing home videos to share with family and friends, as well as training videos containing business-related data.
While unlisted videos can be used for big-group training, they should not be used if they include confidential data.
When should you use unlisted videos?
Aside from training programs, you can use unlisted videos for various purposes. Several creators may need to know that this feature exists but need help using it.
Willing to know how to make the most of this visibility setting? Here are a few examples listed below.
If you’re a content creator with a popular website or blog, you can embed unlisted videos on your site. When an individual embeds unlisted videos on his blog, he will only link the video’s content to your site.
Furthermore, users can only access your videos via your blog. It’s an excellent way to increase website and YouTube channel traffic.
Limiting Video Access
Assume you have old videos you want to archive, but only certain users should have access. In that case, you can restrict access to these videos using an unlisted video.
If you want to be the only one who sees these videos, you can make them private.
Unlisted videos, however, are ideal for hiding videos from the general public while allowing specific users to view your content.
Increasing your Email List
If you rely entirely on YouTube views, you are vulnerable to changes in the platform that could have an enormous effect on the success of your channel.
You are in charge of who receives notification when you send a video by building an email list, And even if you lose your YouTube channel, you can still tell your viewers where they can find you.
This way, you never have to start from scratch.
Unlisted videos aid in the growth of an email list because you can use a special video to entice people to subscribe to your newsletter.
How to adjust YouTube video visibility?
Your video’s visibility settings indicate whether it is public, private, or unlisted. You can easily change the visibility of your video on PC and mobile devices by following a simple set of steps.
Change the YouTube visibility settings on your mobile device as follows:
- Look for your channel icon in the upper right-hand corner of the YouTube app’s homepage. To access a drop-down menu of channel features, click this icon.
- Locate and select the “Your Channel” button. By clicking this, you will be taken to your channel’s page.
- Choose “Manage Videos.”
- Select the Video Settings option. A vertical line of three small dots appears on the right side of the video title set.
- Click “Edit” in the settings drop-down menu.
- Select “visibility” from the menu.
- Choose your preferred visibility option before returning to save changes.
How to change the YouTube visibility settings on a PC?
- After you’ve signed in to YouTube. Your channel profile icon should be visible at the top right-hand side of your page. This icon is typically a small circle containing your profile picture.
- Select the “YouTube Studio” tab from the drop-down menu by clicking the icon.
- Choose “Content” from the menu on the left.
- You will now see a list of all the videos you have uploaded. A column labelled “visibility” appears to the right of the video title. Change the visibility status of the video (for example, “Public”).
- Select “Private,” “Unlisted,” or “Public,” and then “Save” to save your changes.
Final thoughts on YouTube unlisted videos
Creators on YouTube can change their video’s visibility settings to ‘unlisted.’ It means that their video will not be visible to the public but can still be accessed via a link shared by the creators.
While unlisted videos are a great way to share important information like training videos, they are generally less secure than private ones.
Unlisted videos can be a great way to get more subscribers on your email list and engage more with your content if you want to grow your YouTube channel or brand.